• Henkel C., Fricke K.J., Guseva N.G., et al.The bursting nature of star formation in compact star- forming galaxies from the Sloan Digital Sky Survey. 2016,MNRAS,Advance Access. 2016MNRAS.tmp.1087I
  • Schaerer D., Izotov Y.I., Verhamme A., et al.The ionizing photon production efficiency of compact z 0.3 Lyman continuum leakers and comparison with high- redshift galaxies. 2016,A&A,V.591,p.8. 2016A&A...591L...8S
  • Khomenko E., Kostik R.I.,The possible origin of facular brightness in the solar atmosphere. 2016,A&A,V.589,p.6 (7pp). 2016A&A...589A...6K
  • Kulyk I., Korsun P.P., Rousselot P., et al.P/2008 CL94 (Lemmon) and P/ 2011 S1 (Gibbs): comet- like activity at large heliocentric distances. 2016,Icarus,Vol.271,p.314-325. 2016Icar..271..314K
  • Gusev A.S., Kharchenko N.V., Sakhibov F. Kh., et al.A spectral and photometric study of 102 star forming regions in seven spiral galaxies. 2016,MNRAS, 2016MNRAS.tmp....9G
  • Ségransan D., Martín E. L., Lazorenko P.F., et al.Parallax of the L4.5 dwarf 2M1821+ 14 from high- precision astrometry with OSIRIS at GTC. 2016,MNRAS,Vol.455,is.1,p.357-369. 2016MNRAS.455..357S





Login Form


The problems of modern astronomy and methodics of its teaching

Dear Colleagues! We invite you to participate in the 1st International scientific and practical conference, dedicated to the 100th anniversary of astrophysicist I. S. Shklovsky “The problems of modern astronomy and methodics of its teaching”

The conference will be held on October, 6­8, 2016 at Natural sciences education department of Oleksandr Dovzhenko Hlukhiv national pedagogical university.

For participating in the conference till September 1, 2016 it is necessary to send on the organizing committee address:
- Application form on the intention to participate in the conference.
- Reports material.

More details >>>



Main Astronomical Observatory NAS of Ukraine

Main Astronomical Observatory of NAS of Ukraine was founded July 17, 1944 on the initiative of famous scientist, astronomer and geophysicist O.Ya. Orlov (1880 - 1954). It is located 12 km from the center of Kyiv Holosiiv forest (hence its unofficial name - Holosiivska).

Observatory was headed by Acad. of USSR Academy of Sciences O.Ya.Orlov (1944 - 1948 and 1951 - 1952); Corresponding Member of USSR Academy of Sciences V.P. Tsesevych (1948 - 1951), Corresponding Member of USSR Academy of Sciences A.A. Yakovkin (1952 - 1959), Academician of UkSSR Academy of Sciences E.P. Fedorov (1959 - 1973), Ph.D. I.K. Koval (1973 - 1975). Since 1975 the Observatory of NAS of Ukraine has been headed by Academician of NAS of Ukraine Yaroslav Stepanovich Yatskiv.

Observatory takes leading place in many areas of astronomy, such as the study of Earth's rotation and construction of coordinate systems in space, physics photosphere of the Sun and solar system formation and evolution of stars and galaxies, and others.

In the MAO the Post-graduate and Specialized Scientific Council for doctoral and master's theses in physics and mathematics works in the fields:

  • astrometry and celestial mechanics
  • astrophysics, radio astronomy
  • heliophysics and physics of the solar system
  • remote aerospace research

GAO publishes magazines "Physics and Kinematics of Celestial Bodies", "Space science and technology" and the annual "Astronomical Calendar"

Achievements of Observatory scientists more than once winned State awards and medals of the USSR and Ukraine in the field of science and technology, awards of NAS of Ukraine, the Cabinet of Ministers and the Verkhovna Rada of Ukraine, international awards, among them "Dr. Demyaniv Foundation. For peace and freedom of Ukraine" and EU Descartes Prize 2003, the medal named. Yuri Gagarin and the Order "For Merit".

In 2004, MAO was awarded by Certificate of Honor of the Cabinet of Ministers of Ukraine in connection with 60 - anniversary of MAO and the minor planet number 15675 was named "Holosyeyevo" in honor of Holosiivska Observatory.

Observatory has six academic departments: physics of stars and galaxies, astrometry and space geodynamics, space plasma physics, physics of planetary systems, solar physics, physics of minor celestial bodies and laboratories for atmospheric optics, for transient phenomena in stars and for instrumentation as well as Astro/Space Information and Computing Centre (ASICC).




Moon craters were named after O.Ya.Orlov, A.O.Yakovkin, I.V.Gavrilov

Minir planets are name after MAO scientists: №2724 «Orlov», №2728 «Yatskiv», №3965 «Konoplyova», №3966 «Shulnazaria» (in honor of L.M.Shulman and G.K.Nazarchuk), №7628 «Yevgenyfedorov» (in honor of Ye.P.Fedorov), №14346 «Zhylyayev».

MAO scientists winned State awards:

The State Prize of Ukraine in the field of science and technology:

1983: Ye.P.Fedorov, Ya.S.Yatskiv, I.V.Gavrilov, D.P.Duma, V.S.Kislyk, A.O.Korsun', A.M.Kurianova for the cycle of work: «Development of the theory and practical construction of coordinate systems for geodynamic, selenodetic and space research»

1986: V.G. Parusimov in the group of authors for the work «Analogous and digital processing of astronomic observations»

1998: D.Ya. Yatskiv in the group of authors for the work «Physical bases, development and creation of highly stable laser systems for metrology, analytical measurements and fundamental research»

2003: Yu.Yu. Balega (SAO RAS), Ye.A. Gurtovenko, M.V. Karpov, R.R. Kondratyuk, R.I. Kostyk, O.V. Morozhenko, O.V. Sergeyev, V.K. Taradiy., E.G. Yanovitsky, Ya.S.Yatskiv for the cycle of researches «Development of the theoretical bases and unique observational framework in Holosiiv and Terskol for studies of the Sun and Solar System Bodies»

The State Prize of the USSR in the field of science and technology:

1986: Ya.S. Yatskiv in the group of authors for the development of the scientific complex of the space mission to Halley's Comet.




Kuchmiy Hanna

internal address:

+(380) 44 526-31-10
+(380) 44 526-21-47
room 207, tel. 3-55



Head clerk Korsun Tetiana

internal address:

+(380) 44 526-08-69
+(380) 44 526-21-47
room 230, tel. 3-57


Postal address:

Main astronomical observatory

of National academy of sciences of Ukraine

27 Akademika Zabolotnoho St.

03680 MSP,Kyiv, Ukraine


trolleybus №11 ( from Expotsentr (The National Complex “Expocenter of Ukraine”)stop to the last stop)
or minibus №496 (from Lukianivska metro station or bus stops "Epitsentr", "Zabolotnoho", "Metrologichna" to the stop: "Feofania hospital, housing 2").